Green Bay Packers’ wide receiver Randall Cobb thought he ‘died’ after awkward hit

Photo: Elvis Kennedy via Flickr.com

Photo: Elvis Kennedy via Flickr.com

The Green Bay Packers defeated the New York Giants on Sunday Night Football, 23-16, following a well-rounded offensive performance from multiple players.

Perhaps the biggest contributor was wide receiver Randall Cobb, who had nine catches for 108 yards, both season-highs.

Cobb had been kept relatively quiet this season, including only catching one pass for 33 yards in Week 4, but he provided a spark for the Packers against the Giants, helping lead Green Bay to the win and a 3-1 record.

But towards the end of the game, Cobb was on the wrong end of a scary situation that fortunately was only that — a scare.

With a little more than two minutes left in the final quarter, Cobb caught a pass on the near sideline before lowering his head, bracing for impact after seeing Giants’ safety Landon Collins running towards him.

In a weird-looking collision, the combination of Cobb lowering his head to protect himself and Collins lowering his shoulder to make the hit, caused Cobb’s neck to snap awkwardly before he hit the turf.

giphy

“Got folded up like a lawn chair,” Cobb said after the game.

Following the hit, Cobb stayed on the ground for several moments before walking off the field under his own power.

After the game, he told reporters that he initially thought the injury was much worse than it turned out to be.

“I laid there for a second,” Cobb said to Packers News on Monday. “Then I turned over and, like, I had 15 faces in front of me. So I thought I had died or something. They kind of scared me more than anything. Yeah, I took a shot, and it hurt, but whenever I saw everybody standing around me, I thought I had died. And then I felt, I saw I could move my fingers and my feet. So I knew it was all right.”

Cobb said his neck was sore Monday but he passed the league’s concussion test and is probable to play on Sunday when the Packers host the Dallas Cowboys.

This entry was posted in Football and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

